Boojum

Should you find yourself in Dublin city centre with a craving for good food fast, head away from the usual junk food sources. Yes I know there are two McDonalds on O’Connell street alone and the smell from Quiznos is ever so tempting, but you will be rewarded for stepping away from the main streets. Head on over to Millennium Walkway, just off Jervis Street to a little Mexican restaurant called Boojum.


I’ve never been a big Mexican food enthusiast. Sure I’ll indulge in the odd Old El Paso fajita but I’d never gone to a mexican restaurant until I passed Boojum today in search of a noodle bar with OH. The queue was spilling out the door on to the street and the sign offered a meal and a bottle of water for seven euros. The noodle bar we had been heading for did not appear appetizing, and we had time to kill.  We joined the queue and checked out the menu.
Boojum offers a Subway style experience for Mexican food. You choose from a burrito, fajita, taco, bowl or salad and pick your preferred filling and salsa. The queue moved on quickly and the staff were chatty and friendly whilst being amazingly efficient. I chose a chicken fajita with cilantro-lime rice, sweetcorn salsa and cheese. I get nervous about the choices in places like this. I hate to be the one to hold up the queue, but I also love the idea of getting my food exactly the way I want it. The large printed menu on the wall meant I could choose how I’d like my fajita before I got to the counter, so I felt quite prepared.
Usually I prefer to sit at my own table, but this was lunch time on a Saturday. Boojum offers a communal dining experience with several long tables seating six people on each. We shared our table with two other groups of two, and the spacing between chairs allowed us to continue our own conversation without feeling too overlooked.

If you’re looking for a long lazy lunch, or to impress someone special then Boojum is not for you, but for fast good food, it’s well worth heading away from the chain restaurants on the main street.

Extra: I was on my way to work, so didn’t indulge, but at €2.95, Boojum offers some of the cheapest beers in Dublin.

Leave a comment